Teaser Tuesday: Behind a Mask by Louisa May Alcott

19 Jan

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My book this week is Behind a Mask by Louisa May Alcott, a novella in the sensation fiction genre.  I thought this was better with the third sentence, so I left it in.

When alone Miss Muir’s conduct was decidedly peculiar.  Her first act was to clench her hands and mutter between her teeth, with passionate force, “I’ll not fail again if there is power in a woman’s wit and will!”  She stood a moment motionless, with an expression of almost fierce disdain on her face, then shook her clenched hand as if menacing some unseen enemy.

11 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday: Behind a Mask by Louisa May Alcott”

  1. justbookreading January 19, 2010 at 11:52 #

    Other than Little Women, I haven’t reach much Alcott. Maybe I should! Good teaser.

  2. Andrea January 19, 2010 at 14:39 #

    I haven’t heard of this Alcott book before. It looks interesting. Great teaser!
    Here’s mine.

  3. JLS Hall (Joy's Blog) January 19, 2010 at 14:41 #

    I’ve only read Alcott’s books for younger readers, but I always enjoyed those. Interesting teaser!
    Here’s mine.

  4. Jennifer January 19, 2010 at 15:45 #

    Awesome teaser. I should read more Alcott. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/01/teaser-tuesdays-knit-purl-die.html

  5. Harvee (Book Dilettante) January 19, 2010 at 15:58 #

    Didn’t know about this book! Great teaser. My tease.

  6. Susan B. Evans January 19, 2010 at 16:15 #

    Excellent teaser this week :)

    My teaser this week is creepy but funny! Here’s a link.

  7. kaye January 19, 2010 at 16:30 #

    Sounds like anger management is necessary. My teaser is here

  8. Alayne January 21, 2010 at 18:36 #

    Ooh this is a fabulous teaser. I love it!
    Alayne – The Crowded Leaf.

  9. Michele January 25, 2010 at 05:06 #

    Darnit. Another challenge I simply cannot resist…..I’m headin’ on over there to sign up. ;)

    • Michele January 25, 2010 at 05:07 #

      Ok…this was supposed to be in response to the French History challenge, but it’s late and I’m tired and I hit the wrong comment button. But you get my drift, right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers

