Tuesday Teaser: Midnight is a Lonely Place by Barbara Erskine

9 Feb

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week’s teaser is from a favourite re-read, Midnight is a Lonely Place by Barbara Erskine.  Kate Kennedy retires to a remote cottage on the Essex coast to work on her biography of Byron.  But she soon discovers she may not be alone…

It was as she put her hand to the light switch that she realised there was someone in the room.  Her mouth went dry.  She held her breath, listening, aware that the other person was doing the same thing, painfully conscious that she was standing silhouetted against the bright light of the hall.

It was a woman.

This is not one I read last thing at night – not unless I want to sleep with the light on!  Barbara Erskine scared herself when she wrote this book, as she says in an extract from this interview:

When I started writing Midnight is a Lonely Place, which I think is probably the scariest of my books, my desk was actually against the window, looking out, with my back to the room. By the time I′d finished the book I was right over the other side of the room, with my back against the wall. I felt so uncomfortable I kept thinking, ′Well, I′ll rearrange it a little bit …′ until I ended up in the corner where nothing could creep up on me unseen!

11 Responses to “Tuesday Teaser: Midnight is a Lonely Place by Barbara Erskine”

  1. The Literary Omnivore February 9, 2010 at 12:28 #

    The cover is downright spooky, and that excerpt is a bit chilling. Since this is a reread, are you going to review it, or have you already done so?

    Here’s my teaser!

    • Miss Moppet February 9, 2010 at 16:40 #

      The next letter in the Alphabet in Historical Fiction Challenge is coming up and it’s going to be E. So I’m going to do an E is for Erskine post and do a sort of review round-up of all my favourite Erskine books, including this one. Her books range from straight historical (Child of the Phoenix) to timeslip (Lady of Hay) to suspense (Midnight) but the past is very important to all of them.

  2. Alayne February 9, 2010 at 16:11 #

    Great teaser, this one looks nice and spooky! Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  3. Lorin February 9, 2010 at 16:49 #

    I hate sitting with my back to the door. I always like to know who’s coming to get me. =)

    Here’s my teaser at arch thinking.

  4. calicocrazy February 9, 2010 at 17:55 #

    I love a good scary book, I’ll have to try this one. My teaser is up at Calico Contemplations.

  5. Mog February 9, 2010 at 18:03 #

    Have read i Barbara Erskine book , a long time ago and it was excellent if a bit spooky(I can’t remember the title unfortunately). I noticed your post on the Saron Penman book below, I have that on my tbr shelf, but it is a ‘monster’ I will definetley have to be in the mood for that one, but enjoyed your review.

  6. Tweezle February 9, 2010 at 18:20 #

    Great teaser!!! I’m going to have to add this to my wish list.

    Here’s mine for this week:
    http://tweezlereads.blogspot.com/2010/02/teaser-tuesday_09.html

  7. Barbara On the Bookcase February 9, 2010 at 19:46 #

    I haven’t heard of her — thanks for sharing.

    here’s mine — http://blog.readinggroupchoices.com/content/blog/barbara/10/february/teaser-tuesday-29-daughters-witching-hill

  8. kaye February 9, 2010 at 20:19 #

    yup, that definitely looks like daytime reading to me. Love the cover! Mine is here

  9. Ash February 9, 2010 at 21:44 #

    Oooo sounds excellent. I love your header, by the way, it’s so cute!.

    English Major’s Junk Food>

    • Miss Moppet February 9, 2010 at 21:58 #

      Thank you! It’s a detail from one of Gustave Dore’s engraved illustrations for The Sleeping Beauty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers

